Q What Are the Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Kansas City?
Currently, 47 states including the District of Columbia and most U.S. protectorates have helmet laws for cyclists and/or bikers and their passengers. Nineteen states including the District have laws requiring helmets for all riders; 28 states require helmets for some riders, and three states currently have no helmet laws at all.
In Missouri, motorcycle riders of all ages and their passengers are required by law to wear state-approved protective headgear while on state roads. This law doesn't apply to motorized bicycles and mopeds with engine displacement of less than 50 cubic centimeters or to motorized two-wheelers with a top speed of 30 mph or less.
In Kansas, the relevant statute says, “No person under the age of 18 years shall operate or ride upon a motorcycle or a motorized bicycle, unless wearing a helmet which complies with minimum guidelines established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.” Kansas also requires motorcycle riders to wear eye protection while on the road.
Laws that require riders to wear motorcycle helmets come under review almost annually. Many riders claim helmets are unsafe or interfere with their riding pleasure, while most official agencies—including the Governors Highway Safety Association and the Center for Disease Control—urge all states to adopt and enforce helmet laws.
If you've been injured in a motorcycle accident in Kansas City, whether or not you were wearing a helmet, our personal injury attorneys may be able to help. At Castle Law Office, we work with you to get the compensation you need and deserve after a crash.
Call us today at 816-842-6200 to speak with an attorney who will fight to get you the compensation you deserve. Or you can click here to email us.