Types of Insurance Needed for Car Accidents in Kansas and Missouri
No matter what state you're in, you are required to carry certain amounts of coverage. Below are general guidelines for car insurance in Kansas and Missouri. For more details, see your state's Web site on auto insurance guidelines.
In many states, drivers are required by law to have a minimum amount of liability coverage. Liability coverage is insurance that pays for damages to others if you cause an accident.
In both Kansas and Missouri, liability coverage is required. Your policy must provide at least $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for property damage.
Remember, liability insurance pays only to settle claims or pay judgments against you if you are found negligent.
Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Benefits
To protect yourself against claims from other drivers or passengers in case of a car accident, you can purchase a coverage known as "uninsured or underinsured motorist benefits." This allows you to get paid by your own insurance company if a negligent driver has not enough liability insurance to pay for your bills.
In both Kansas and Missouri, your policy must cover $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured and underinsured drivers.
Call us today at 816-842-7100 to speak with an attorney that will fight to get you the compensation you deserve. Or you can click here to email us and schedule your free consultation.