Kansas and Missouri Workers’ Comp Deadlines
When you are filing for workmans’ comp, there are several important deadlines you need to keep in mind in order qualify for benefits. If you miss any of these deadlines, you will miss out on any benefits you are entitled to, such as medical treatment, physical therapy and more.
Here are the workers’ compensation deadlines for Kansas and Missouri. Our office has attorneys who are licensed in both states and can help you make sure you meet these important deadlines.
Kansas Workers' Comp
In Kansas, you must report to your company that you had an on-the-job accident:
20 days after the accident or injury if it was caused by repetitive actions
20 days after seeking medical treatment for an accidental injury
10 days after the last day of employment, if the employee doesn’t work there anymore
Make sure that you tell your employer – both orally and in writing – that an accident has happened and you are seeking medical treatment. Check with your company to see who have you to give this notice to, such as your supervisor or manager, or your company’s HR representative.
The notice should include the following details:
Time, date and place of injury
Who was injured
How the accident happened
Notice that you have suffered a work-related injury and are claiming benefits under the workers’ compensation act
If you end up having a claim of a permanent injury, you must file your claim within three years of the date of the accident, or two years from the date your employer last made a payment on account of your injury, whichever is later.
Missouri Workers' Comp
In Missouri, you must report to your company that you had an on-the-job accident within 30 days of the injury. You must give written notice within 30 days of the accident, but you should also immediately report the injury to your supervisor or manager.
This is because under Missouri law, your employer has the right to select the doctor who will treat your work comp case, not the insurance company. So in order to get treatment right away, you need to report the injury immediately.
If you end up having a claim of a permanent injury, you must file your claim within two years of the date of the accident, or the date your employer last made a payment on account of your injury.
As you can see, workers’ comp laws are complicated, and you need someone you can trust to be your advocate while you are recovering.
If you’ve been injured in a workplace accident, our experienced lawyers can help you out. Call us today at 816-842-7100 to speak with an attorney. Or you can click here to email us and schedule your free consultation. We take all injury cases on a contingency basis, which means that we don’t get paid unless we win the case for you.